Fantastic Symphonies – Part 2

Mozart – Symphony No. 41 (Jupiter)

This was both the lengthiest and final composition of famed composer Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Nicknamed Jupiter no doubt because of not just its scale on the timeline but because of some of the enormous sounds that are laced into this bombastic classical hit. With a pace that fluctuates between solo sweet fluttering flutes and forcefully punching horns sometimes back to back, this work keeps you on your toes. A sense of urgency continues throughout this one despite its dips into quieter moments. An impressive farewell, this work of musicianship shows combinations of melodies and the dramatic flair that made Mozart go down in history as one of the greats, this symphony leaving an audible impression that would not be forgotten.

Berlioz – Symphonie Fantastique

Unlike many of the darker soundscapes created by composers, this set of delightful pieces has a much more elegant and whimsical air about it. With delicate flutes that tantalize the ears reminiscent of the walk of fairies its easy to hear the colour of a fun fantasy plain being opened up in the notes here. This release was quite unexpected at the time and continues to stun many listeners who return to it now. It definitely stands apart from many of its competitors just on tone alone, yet the vivid sounds that are held within make it truly a step ahead of others. From the proud horns that stand tall in IV’s march to the charming high pitched chirps in V that seamlessly move into mischievous and
make for a terrific set up to a rousing finale.

Mahler – Symphony No. 9

German Composer Gustav Mahler was no stranger to epics. In this, his final symphony he scored the music for a huge orchestra in comparison to other pieces at the time the musicians needed to execute this piece were astounding all on their own. The sheer force behind all the different strings and percussion here make almost every moment seem intensified. In the few moments of calm you cant help but feel like something is right around the corner, because in fact it is. Hurried and high melodic tones meet deep and personal horns in a dance that is extremely powerful.

Dvorak – Symphony N. 9 (From The New World)

Czech composer Antonín Leopold Dvořák was one of the very first to acquire recognition around the planet. His melodies and rhythms compelled all who heard his work to become captivated by the sounds he composed. Symphony No.9 is a wonderfully heartfelt piece, the main melody has been used over and over again in advertising to represent breaking dawns, meadows and wholesome modern life. This is no doubt because it brings to mind the steady repetitions of a community, slowly building with calm peaks and troughs. There is an unmistakably optimistic quality to it that is somehow tied to a stark saddening undertone, this duality of emotion is the mark of not just a fantastic composer but an incredible piece of music.

Comments are closed.